Premium Wine Region

Marlborough is recognised as one of the premium wine regions of the world, renowned for its intense Sauvignon Blanc and bright, rich Pinot Noir.

Regional Diversity

Regional Diversity

Three Sub Regions

A broad alluvial plain stretches from the coastline, gradually rising into narrow valleys with favourable northerly aspects. The Marlborough wine region is defined by three sub-regions; Wairau Valley, Southern Valley and the Awatere Valley. They may be close in proximity to each other, but the differences in style and flavour are vast, allowing wine drinkers to explore the full range of fruit flavours and styles.

Awatere Valley

Our home

Yealands Estate is located in Awatere Valley, the southernmost, coolest and driest of Marlborough’s growing regions. Its proximity to the coastline and strong offshore winds impart a distinctive mineral and fresh herb character. Whilst geographically diverse, Marlborough's maritime climate, long cool growing season and young fertile soils promote intense varietal characters, fresh natural acidity and succulent ripe fruit flavours that the world has quickly embraced.


Tropical North

The Wairau sub-region is Marlborough’s first and most northerly planted vineyards. Located primarily on river beds, the soils have a high composition of river stones which reflect light and heat into the canopy, resulting in their distinctive tropical fruit characteristics.

Southern Valley

Silt, Gravel & Clays

Located to the South of the Wairau plains is the Southern Valley. The soils are typically higher in silt, gravel and clays, and air descending from nearby ranges, results in a cooler, later ripening climate. Flavour profiles typically reflect citrus and stonefruit characters.